RICHMOND, Va. (WRIC) — Governor Glenn Youngkin announced members for a new commission dedicated in preventing human trafficking Monday.

Youngkin announced the members of the Commission on Human Trafficking Prevention and Survivor Support who will serve as an advisory council to the governor, making recommendations to combat human trafficking in Virginia.

“The conviction of human traffickers, empowerment of survivors, and prevention of others from becoming victims are top public safety priorities for the Commonwealth,” Gov. Youngkin said. “That is why I signed the executive order for this commission on my first day in office.”

The Commission will be coordinating with the Secretary of Public Safety, the Secretary of Education, the Secretary of Labor, the Office of Attorney General and the State Trafficking Response Coordinator. It will also work with any other federal, state, local or private sector entities to increase law enforcement awareness, empower and support survivors and enhance trafficking prevention education throughout the Commonwealth.

“Human trafficking, especially sex trafficking, is one of the most heinous, violent crimes our communities combat,” Bob Mosier, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security said. “I am confident this team will make a difference in the lives of survivors and prevent others from becoming victims, making the Commonwealth safer for all.”

The new commission consists of the following members:

  • Mike Lamonea, Chair, of Chesapeake, Director at Juniper Networks and Retired DHS/Homeland Security Investigations Special Agent
  • Michael J. Brown of Lynchburg, Virginia, Sheriff (Retired), Bedford County Sheriff’s Office
  • Brittany Dunn of Alexandria, COO & Co-Founder, Safe House Project
  • Sarah-Beth Evans of Norfolk
  • Keith Farmer of Roanoke Valley, Director, Straight Street
  • Michael Y. Feinmel of Henrico, Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney, Henrico County
  • Pamela Hock, M.S. of Richmond, Educator, Advocate, Survivor
  • Tyller Holden of Virginia Beach, Junior Board of Directors, EnJewel
  • Michael Miller of Bedford, Sheriff, Bedford County
  • Deepa Patel of Springfield, Virginia, Co-Founder and Clinician, Trauma and Hope
  • Mea Picone of Richmond
  • Susan Young of Fairfax, Executive Director and Founder, Parent Coalition To End Human Trafficking

The new commission consists of the following Ex-officio members:

  • Secretary Robert “Bob” Mosier, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security 
  • Secretary Aimee Guidera, Secretary of Education
  • Secretary Bryan Slater, Secretary of Labor
  • Angella Alvernaz, State Trafficking Response Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice Services
  • Major Caren Sterling, Deputy Director of the Bureau of Criminal Investigations, Lead of VSP Human Trafficking Unit, Virginia State Police
  • Tanya Gould, Director, Anti-Human Trafficking Office of Attorney General