Weather

Two earthquakes rock Louisa County

RICHMOND, Va. (WRIC) -- On Friday morning, you may have felt the ground move, especially if you were in Louisa county.  The United States Geological Survey (USGS) recorded a 2.4 magnitude earthquake at 16:25 UTC (11:25 AM EST). This was centered 3.1 miles ENE of Goochland, VA and was 7.58 miles below the surface.

The second earthquake followed the first by 20 minutes. The USGS recorded at 2.5 magnitude Earthquake at 16:45 UTC (11:45 AM EST). This one was centered 5.6 miles ENE of Goochland, VA and 5.15 miles below the surface.

If you felt anything or see any damage, let us know by sending an email to news@wric.com.

 


Local Headlines

Latest News

Latest Local News

Video Center